My Babu, grandfather, never used recipes, and anyone that tasted his food wished that he had at least noted the ingredients he used for his dishes. Unfortunately, he did not and this has lead to different members of my family attempting to recreate his cooking through trial and error. Some have come close and others have created a whole new version of something old. You might ask why we don’t look up recipes, some dishes we are able to find, most we aren’t. There are even a few Georgian cookbooks, but nothing ever tastes quite like my Babu’s.

My family also has a limited view of Georgian dishes. We might stray from the usual suspects, but we never know if it tastes how it should  because we don’t have the proper spice mixture or correct type of onion etc etc. You might think that it shouldn’t really matter if it tastes how it “should”, as long as we like it, but that’s not what we strive for. We want to cook what we think my Babu would prepare.

What all of this trial and error cooking has lead to is a desire for new, straight-from-a-Georgian-kitchen dishes. This is my mission. My hope is for someone in my host family, or anyone that my host family might know, to let me into their kitchen to watch and learn. Upon hearing that I was going to Georgia, the first thing out of family members mouths was “bring back spices”. Ok, so maybe they first said something about how excited they were for me, but “bring back spices” was next.

As a result of this family history, I will be focusing particularly on my experiences with Georgian food, recipes, and cooking in my writings. That isn’t to say that I do not intend to blog about my days at school or my time with the people of Georgia. But first and foremost, my mission on this blog is to write about food. I hope people at home will try the recipes I share for themselves. Eat up!

