Mtsvane Lobio
Green Beans

Green beans in Georgia are the long flat kind rather than the round kind typical in America. “Green” beans can also be purple speckled, red speckled, or yellow, all long and flat. The “green” part, as far as I can tell, is to differentiate between kidney beans.

Recipes are not really my host mothers forte, she tends to tell me the ingredients, tell me how it is cooked and then the final product appears. So I will share with you what I know, quantities are up to the tastes of those eating it.

Boil green beans, the fresher the better. Once boiled, drain some of the water. Also, be sure to boil the green beans until they are soft and fairly mushy, I have not had a crisp green bean yet.

Take chopped onions, garlic, and tomatoes and saute in oil. Chop a lot of parsley and add to the mix. Add all of this to the beans.

Red peppers can also be added.

 

Ostri
Beef tomato soup/stew

Boil cubed beef.

Once the beef is cooked, add onion, garlic, parsley, cilantro, a small amount of mild pepper, salt, and tomato paste (or crushed canned tomato). The hard to replicate part for this recipe is the spice mixture suneli. I am working on figuring out exactly what the spice mixture is and intend to bring back as much as possible when I return. And that is ostri. Simple, yet tasty.

