School was cut short on Wednesday due to impending bad weather. First of all, this was incredibly silly because the Georgian government canceled public schools nationwide. Kutaisi did not receive any abnormal amount of snow, nor was it colder than it had been before when we had school. So the cancellation was a bit of a waste, especially since we supposedly have to make them up on Saturdays ( I do not think that the school will be able to get the students to come on Saturday)

This cancellation meant that I had a four and a half day weekend. I cannot say that I did anything particularly exciting with these extra days, but I wandered quite a bit around town, prepared some articles for class and formulated my plan of attack for Valentine’s Cards for students on Tuesday.

Monday could not come fast enough nor slow enough. I was enjoying my lounging about while at the same time not liking it at all. My at home load of tutoring has increased drastically. Now, my host mother insists a little bit of English every day with the 7 year old as well as forcing discussion with my 17 year old host sister and finally helping her with her homework and English. I might need to start taking note of how long I actually spend tutoring, because I am only obligated for three hours a week, but do not want to go over 4 or 5. It certainly feels like it is two hours a day- which I am sure it is not that bad- it is just being tired from doing it all day at school.

So anyway, Monday came and in very Georgian style I was told I would have my first hour with the 11th graders alone. This is normally not that big of a deal, but they were locked out of their classroom. How can this happen, you might ask? Well, one student and the homeroom teacher have keys to the rooms and this particular day the student with the key was absent and the teacher did not have a first hour, so she was not in yet. We stood in the hall while other teachers tried to find a key to fit in the music room. No use, all doors were locked to us. Except the teacher’s lounge. Yes, we were going to have lesson in the teacher’s lounge. Well, that is what they were hoping. After about ten minuets of asking them how their weekend was, what the weather was like, and if they wanted to go to university with minimal response- I gave up. I am not proud of that fact, but I did not want to yell and shout and the set up of the teacher’s lounge is not conducive to learning or teaching. The students were in clumps talking. There weren’t enough seats and there was no room for students to get out their books, if they had had them. That was fun. Not.

Later that day, I showed both co-teacher’s my idea for making Valentine’s cards with the students and both seemed enthusiastic about it. Tuesday rolled around and I had all the materials prepared- red and pink construction paper folded in half and white hearts cut-out. I had even brought extra paper and scissors in case I had miscounted and needed to make more. I also brought a bag of mini snickers to hand out. One of my co-teachers says that she will even have a text for the students about Valentine’s Day.

My first lesson was nearly over before I finally got a word in to ask about if we were going to make the cards or not. My co-teacher looked at me peculiarly and said “oh, you have the materials?” I assured her I did and we began.

The kids, the 3rd, 4th and 6th graders were all wowed by the thought of pink and red paper and white cut-out hearts. They were ooing and awing and were, in general, very excited about making Valentine’s cards. Even though they had no idea what it was I was asking them to make. It was funny how at least two students in each class asked if they could write in Georgian in the card. I had to smile and say that all they had to do was copy the “Happy Valentine’s Day” I had written on the board onto the card. They were all concerned as to the proper placement of the heart and writing. I pointed in a general area on the card and left them to it. I was really happy to see how much they were enjoying it. Most of them pulled out their colored pencils and started drawing or just started decorating the card with their blue pens.

I handed out the mini snickers only after the bell had rang, and then the students went crazy. They were shouting and blowing kisses at me and thanking me. It is days like these that their ridiculousness is adorable.

