The title of this post means “Czech Style”. Now, I am not a fashionista, really, not at all, but a few of the Czech styles that I have seen wandering about need to be mentioned and I feel like helping to paint a picture of what I see on a regular basis.

The first is: the mullet. Yes, in the Czech Republic the mullet has made its come-back. Ok, so maybe the mullet has appeared again all over the rest of the world, but it is still shocking to see a living, breathing person in all seriousness sporting a mullet. I have not decided if it is worse to see an unknowing child with a mullet or a fully-aware adult. Both are horrible. I strongly feel it died out in the U.S. for a reason. (Because having really long hair in the back and short hair in the front looks sloppy! And the negative associations…)

The next style that needs to be mentioned does occur in the U.S, but not as prevalent as here. I even had two separate classes mention it as a part of the Czech Style. Can you guess? It is the ever dorky socks and sandals. So, I have been known to slip on a pair of sandals while wearing socks, but I feel goofy when it happens. The Czechs walk around as if it doesn’t matter at all. (Ok, it really doesn’t matter. We shouldn’t care what people are wearing, but what they are doing and how they are acting.) The two classes said that this style is for children and “old people” and not acceptable among teenagers, although they still wear it.

Mullet, socks and sandals, what else. Oh yeah, MOM Jeans. If you do not know what I mean by mom jeans, think about the high-waisted shorts that are coming back into style, but in an acid watch, without flattering pockets or seems, and tapering down to just hit the ankles. Just google it, you will find examples.

All in all, it seems like a good chunk of the Czech people are stuck in the 80’s and early 90’s. Maybe that has something to do with communism. I don’t know and I am not going to put that much effort into thinking about it, I just wanted to talk about mullets and mom jeans. Also it is good to note that the majority of these sightings have occurred in Ostrov or Sokolov, not in Karlovy Vary or Prague.

