It’s that time of year. PUMPKIN!!!! Ok, so I love pumpkins. Carving them, painting them, eating them and baking with them. I had hoped to make a fancy gluten free and dairy free pumpkin pie baked in a mini pumpkin, but I couldn’t find any mini pumpkins, thus I went the easy route and did these cookies instead. In half the batch I added a bit of cocoa powder, it added a lovely depth to the cookie. I want to try a few dark chocolate cocoa nibs mixed in next time.

Pumpkin Spiced Oatmeal Cookies

2 cups Gluten Free flour (mine was a mix of potato, tapioca and rice flour with xanthum gum)
1 1/3 cups rolled Gluten Free oats
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
8 ounces butter, at room temperature
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin purée (if fresh it’s about 1 3/4 cups)
For the glaze:  ( I didn’t make the glaze)
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon milk (not nonfat), plus more as needed
2 tablespoons maple syrup

Oven at 175C (350F). Line two cookie sheets with baking powder.

Whisk the flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg together. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and both brown and white sugars until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla. Now add half of the dry mixture into the wet mixture. Stir until well mixed. Add half of the canned pumpkin. Mix well. Then add the remaining dry ingredients and canned pumpkin. Mix until it’s a nice even wetness. At this point I would recommend adding a tiny touch of cocoa powder (maybe a tablespoon, I really eyeballed it.) I didn’t want the beautiful orange color to be compromised with too much brown from the cocoa powder.

When placing the dough onto the prepared cookie sheets, be aware that the cookies will keep their shape! Normally I just plop a tablespoon or so on and it flattens as it bakes into a smoother nicer form, these don’t do that. Take a little more time to shape and flatten the dough before putting them into the oven. Bake for 24 minutes, with a switch  between racks half way through.

Cool and enjoy. If you want to do the glaze, cool completely and then mix the sugar, mild and syrup together for the constancy you want. Then dip a fork into it and drizzle across the cookies. Let set for 20 minutes or so. Again, I didn’t do that and it might not taste as nice with my addition of cocoa powder.

