Tags

The other day I wanted to make gluten and soya free chocolate chip cookies. I looked up a few recipes online and began baking. Because I need to keep the cookies soya free, I had to replace normal chocolate chips with coco nibs. When I bought them from the health food store, the woman recommended using them sparingly because they are very strong.
Anyway, I found a nice recipe online and then as I started, I realized I was missing half of the most basic ingredients anyway! It was lashing rain out, so I was not about to pop over to the store. Instead I got creative with substitutes I had on hand. This led me to make what I am calling “Coco Nib Biscotti Cookies”.

  • about 1/4 cup sunflower oil (I didn’t have any butter and I made up the ratio a bit)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2-3 tablespoons of maple syrup (didn’t have granulated sugar)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup and a bit of gluten free flour mix
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup coco nibs (soya free)

Per usual, mix the baking soda, baking powder and gluten free flour into a bowl and break up any clumps with a whisk. In another bowl mix the oil and brown sugar until well blended. Then add the egg and maple syrup. I normally would put in vanilla, but I didn’t because of the maple syrup.

Slowly mix the dry bowl into the wet bowl. Then mix in the coco nibs. The batter won’t be like normal cookie dough. It will be almost creamier, but sticker. Just don’t expect it to be like normal cookie dough.

Plop onto baking sheets covered with baking paper and bake for about 20 minutes at 350 (175C). It may take longer than this, it might be way shorter. The original recipe called for only 10 minutes, either my oven is wonky or because of the substitutes it took longer to brown. The cookies will come out tasting like biscotti with coco nibs in it.

I might have to try the original recipe again sometime and see if it tastes more like the classic chocolate chip cookie.

 

 

