I have been very busy recently and haven’t had the energy, time or inclination to sit down and write a post. It’s one of those times where there is potentially so much to say that I don’t know where to start, so I might just jump right in with the new title and cover photo.

I have changed my title yet again. This time to represent the importance of making the best of where one is in life, be it one’s physical location, emotional state, state of employment etc…. I am not always the most optimistic of people, really I wouldn’t apply that word to myself at all, but one can try. 🙂

The new photo is from a day trip down to a small costal town called Greystones. The reason Eamonn and I went there was to visit the cafe called The Happy Pear. (I follow them on instagram- something I don’t really do much of- but the photos they share of their food is mouthwateringly beautiful)  I believe I have already made and posted a few of their recipes. Needless to say, the food there was amazing and I was incredibly excited to see that they are coming out with another cookbook in June!

It was a bean, carrot, and potato bake with cheese baked on top….. then a yummy sprout salad!

It was a bean, carrot, and potato bake with cheese baked on top….. then a yummy sprout salad!

Dark Chocolate Hot Coco

Dark Chocolate Hot Cocoa

I want to share a recipe from The Happy Pear that I tried, o gosh, probably over a month ago at this point. I found it in their cookbook while looking for a dessert recipe to bring to a lovely dinner with the in-laws and extended in-law family. What jumped out at me and really made me NEED to try this recipe was the fact that it boiled an orange. It took that boiled orange and pureed it….Yep. That’s right. A whole boiled orange, peel and all pureed into a chocolate cake batter…. With no further ado, the recipe:

Chocolate, Orange and Ginger Cake

  • 3 small oranges ( I used two medium ones)
  • 6 eggs
  • 200g ground almonds
  • 250g sugar of 250 ml agave syrup ( I used sugar)
  • 100g cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder (make sure it’s gluten free!- you’d be surprised that some baking powder actually has wheat flour in it….)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • zest of two oranges (not the ones from above)
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 3 heaped teaspoons of fresh grated ginger ( I wouldn’t skimp here!)

First we need to do what inspired me to make this recipe…boil the orange/oranges. Boil that sucker for 2 hours, while making sure that they are fully submerged. Now I found that part difficult, because the oranges floated. Remove from the water and leave to cool.

Preheat the oven to 170C or 325F. Prepare a 20cm (about 9 inch) springform cake pan by layering it with parchment paper. Have a bit come up the sides to ensure a good seal to prevent batter from leaking out.

Now take those cooled boiled oranges and blend them to a smooth pulp. Make sure to take out any seeds!!!! Once it’s been blended, add the sugar/ agave syrup. In a separate bowl whisk the eggs and ground almonds together. Now add the orange and egg mixture together.

Sift the cocoa, baking powder and baking soda into a bowl and whisk lightly. Pour the orange and egg mixture to the dry ingredients. Add the orange zest, ground ginger and grated rest ginger. Stir it all to combine! Pour that zesty, gingery smelling batter into the cake pan and bake for about 50 minutes or, as per usual for baking, until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.

Let the baked cake cool for 10-15 minutes in the pan before removing. Carefully take it out of the pan and decorate with orange zest. If you used agave syrup, also pour a bit of that over the cake as well.

Here is a not so great photo of the end result. Excuse the sparseness of the orange zest, I didn’t have a real zester

Chocolate Orange Mousse Cake

