I am doing a bit of catch up with some of the tasty dinners that have been made over the last bit of time where I wasn’t paying any attention to my blog. This is another recipe from The Happy Pear’s first cookbook (seriously, I love these guys- ok, well really only the food they come up with!)

They call this Puy Lentil and Coriander Pesto Bake with Sweet Potato Mash (I call it Vegetarian Shepard’s Pie or Fancy Pie) and of course I made some changes. Honestly, when it comes to my alterations and guesstimations, I have no clue if they are anywhere near the actual amount or not, I just go with it.

  • 2 medium carrots cut into bite sized pieces
  • 150g green beans (I didn’t have any, so I used kale)
  • 250g potatoes  (I used three medium ones)
  • 750g sweet potatoes (I used four large ones)
  • 400g Puy Lentils (or other green or brown lentil)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • leaves from 6 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 50ml tamari (now I did not use tamari or soy sauce because it’s an allergen in this house, so I left it out and splashed in a tiny bit of balsamic- totally different flavors I know, but it’s what I had and is soy free)
  • about 100ml milk (they suggest non-dairy)

I became super lazy when it came to the pesto and just threw in some oil, garlic and chopped coriander….I call it “deconstructed pesto”…but here is what they suggest: bunch of fresh coriander; 3 cloves garlic; salt; 100ml oil; 100ml water. Blend that all together in a blender until smooth….add the water bit by bit to get the constancy desired.

Preheat the oven to 200C/ 400F

Take the bit sized carrots and put them in a large pot with the lentils and bay leaves, thyme, salt, pepper, (tamari), and 1 liter of water. Bring to a boil and then reduce to simmer away the liquid for 25 minutes or so.

Boil the potatoes and sweet potatoes until tender. Drain and then mash. Add the milk or milk substitute and a bit of salt and black pepper.

Close-up of the spiky mash

Not very crispy and quite orange, but I swear it was tasty!

Once the lentils are soft and cooked through (stir in the pesto if you’ve made it-or if you’re lazy like me the “deconstructed pesto”). Place the lentil and “pesto” mixture into a baking dish of some kind and cover it with the mash. Use a fork to spike the mash for crispy bits. Bake for 25 minutes.

IMG_3577

Ok, so that really doesn’t do the deliciousness justice…mostly because it is very orange and then very brown….but just try it sometime and you will see!

 

