I am down in Cilliruith (Keelerih) near Ventry in West Kerry for a nice long weekend. Since it is/was also Easter I decided it would be nice to make a few nice treats to celebrate.

The weather has been changeable, but it doesn’t matter when there is a dry house with a beautiful view and  cozy fire to sit in front of! As well as relaxing, I have also been slightly productive and spent a few mornings working on my Montessori project. I am taking a Montessori course and we are currently in the Numeracy section and we have to create an activity that reinforces 1-10. I decided to make spiders, webs and flies and have managed in my head to make it all make sense! Anyway, I digress. Back to scrumptious Easter Scones and Lemon Bars!

First of all I have to thank the website DeliciouslyElla for another great gluten free recipe. Her Zesty Easter Scones were, well. delicious! The recipe is as follows:

  • 2 cup oat flour (200g)- I took 2 cups of oats and ground them in a food processor.
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • zest of one lemon
  • zest of one orange
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup almond milk ( I used regular milk because I didn’t need it to be dairy free)
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 chia egg (1 tbsp chia left to soak for 10 minutes in 3 tbsp water)- I forgot to bring the chia seeds down with me, so I couldn’t do that.

Next you want to grease a muffin tin and preheat the oven to 180C. Mix it all the dry and the zest then add the wet to the dry. Also squeeze the zested orange into the mix as well. Lop it all into the muffin in and bake for 20 minutes. The zesty, citrusy smell that permeated the kitchen was unreal! They turned out very sweet as well. I would potentially use a little baking powder to give it a little raise next time. Or just use a smaller muffin tin.

Next I made The Forever to Bake Lemon Bars. They are named thus because from the time I started mixing until the whole thing was baked was about 11 hours. There was a bit of cooking dinner, going to a pub to watch a match, and then having a nice evening snooze normally called sleeping that took place in-between some of the stages. Anyway, if a normal person were to just bake it, it would probably take 40 minutes or so.

  • 1 2/3 cup gluten free flour blend
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 salt (since I am in Ireland and all butter is salted, I always skip this)
  • Zest of large lemon
  • 9 tablespoons of unsalted melted and cooled butter (again I live in a salted butter country)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2/3 cup lemon juice (freshly squeezed is about 4 lemons)

For this we need to preheat the oven to 325F and prepare an 8-inch square pan…I didn’t have an 8-inch or square pan so I used a 9-inch cake pan. I put in greased parchment paper like it wanted with the square, but it didn’t work to well in the round tin, so maybe if not using a quadrilateral pan, skip the parchment paper.

To make the crust I mixed 1 cup of the flour, the powdered sugar and the lemon zest. I gave it a hearty whisk to break up the flour (I feel like gluten free flour clumps more than normal). Then I added the melted butter with a fork. The fun part came when I plopped the gooey mixture into the pan and smashed it flat with my fingers! While it was fun, I should have made it a bit more even.

The custard layer was the eggs, granulated sugar, baking powder, lemon juice and remaining 2/3 cups of flour whisked vigorously until well blended. At this point I should have put the crust in the oven and baked it for 15 minutes or until brown. Instead we started to bake the hake and salmon dinner. After dinner I through the crush in to bake and with only two minutes left on the timer, I went to the pub for a drink or two. When I got home I decided to sleep. The crust only needed to cool slightly.

Anyhow, the next morning I poured the lemon/egg mixture into the crust and baked for 20-25 minutes, until the jiggling stopped. Now the recommend chilling it for at least 2 hours. That I did.

We enjoyed it so much that no pictures were taken.

