Chicken Marsala: a delicious pasta dish with a rich warm sauce and breaded chicken. I found and modified an online recipe to suit my Gluten Free and potato loving Irish husband. Most of these things I also found in my fridge, because I didn’t want to take my lazy bum to the store.

  1. 1 bundle asparagus
  2.  some thinly sliced chicken breasts
  3. gluten free flour for dredging
  4. Olive oil as needed
  5. Sea salt and black pepper as needed
  6. mushrooms
  7. 2 cloves garlic, minced
  8. 3/4 cup White wine (it called for Marsala wine…didn’t have that, so I used a bit of white…so maybe it shouldn’t be called Chicken Marsala??)
  9. 3/4 cup low sodium chicken broth
  10. fresh parsley to garnish
  11. Parmesan Cheese to garnish
  12. spuds (the Irish contribution!)
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 200. CELSIUS! (I got that right this time 🙂 )
  2. Start with the asparagus. Snap the ends off the asparagus and  cut the stalks into three or four pieces. Prepare to bake with some olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake 15-20 minutes until tender and the ends are crisp. Set aside until needed.
  3. Heat a skillet over medium high heat with enough olive oil to coat the bottom.
  4. Add about 1/2 cup of gluten free flour to a plate. Season with salt and pepper and dredge the chicken through it.
  5. When the skillet is hot, add the chicken. I have a large skillet so I could fit all of my slices on at once. I then browned each side for 5-7 minutes (each side). Make sure the chicken is cooked through!  Add oil as needed. Put the cooked chicken onto a plate.  Now here the recipe was saying that I’d have lovely brown bits stuck to the bottom, apparently my non stick pan is too good and I didn’t have any of those flavor enhancing bits.
  6. Add the mushrooms to the same skillet on medium heat and cook until mushrooms are soft and brown. Again, add oil if needed.
  7. Add the garlic and cook 45 seconds until it smells delicious.
  8. Add the white wine, increase the heat, and boil off some of the alcohol.
  9. Add the chicken stock, lower the heat down to a simmer and cook until it thickens. I couldn’t get it to thicken, so I added some cornflour to give it a hand.
  10. Once the sauce finally thickened I stirred in the roasted asparagus. Feel free to add salt and pepper as well.
  11. Plop the chicken back into the sauce a bit to reheat it. Add chopped parsley for garnish.
  12. I had been boiling potatoes while the rest of this was happening. Then I mashed them with some butter.
  13. Serve it with some mashed potatoes and you’ve got an Irish take on Chicken Marsala!
Chicken "Marsala" with Mushrooms and Asparagus

Chicken “Marsala” with Mushrooms and Asparagus

