Tags

, ,

This past weekend, my hubby and I drove down to Kerry to partake of the 10th Annual Dingle Food Festival. We arrived late Thursday night and went straight to bed exhausted and happy to be in Kerry at Nan’s house. The next morning my fit husband woke up and went to the West Kerry Gym, a really great gym, while I sat and enjoyed the morning. Then I got off my lazy bum and went for a jog. Anyway, we spent Friday with Nan and went and had an amazing lunch at Grey’s Lane Bistro. I had the Seafood Tagliatelle. It was divine. After Nan got a not so usual bread and butter pudding while my husband and I gobbled a walnut chocolate brownie- divine! The rest of Friday we relaxed and enjoyed good conversation and cards. We bought tickets for the next day and Eamonn signed up for a coffee demonstration at 12.00 the next day.

Seafood Tagliatelle

Seafood Tagliatelle

The next morning we woke and had a lovely fry up. We would be heading to the Food Festival in the late morning. I must admit, I was ridiculously excited. We arrived and barely managed to squeeze the little Yaris between two very poorly parked fancy cars. While Eamonn went to his coffee demonstration, I began to wander and create a plan of attack. The day before we had gone through the Food Festival brochure and marked the places we really wanted to go.

My mission, self decided, was to locate the places we had marked and take pictures of some of the food before we stuck in. My first photo is of the Little Cheese Shop in Dingle and their offer of a cheese and cut meat plate or raclette. I took the photo as I was walking by and then when it came time to decide to eat there or not, we were full.

assorted cheese and salami

assorted cheese and salami

Anyway, my actual first taste of the Food Festival was a lemon polenta shortbread biscuit with mascarpone and lavender topping. It was divine! The polenta as the shortbread is a great idea to take home for a gluten free base!

Lemon Polenta Shortbread with sweet mascarpone and lavender topping

Lemon Polenta Shortbread with sweet mascarpone and lavender topping

We weren’t going to try the kangaroo because the line was long and we felt “eh” about it. It wasn’t until a cousin told us it was one of the biggest hits and asked us if we could bring him some at work that we decided “since we are in line anyway, might as well”. It tastes very similar to venison.

img_4907

The one we ate is not the one photographed. I must admit the first few we sampled were half eaten before I thought to take a picture. These were hurriedly thrown together ones on the table that I snapped a quick picture of before they were gobbled by those waiting hungrily in line! Ours was much more neatly presented with the parsnip puree as the base then the pudding and topped by the scallop. It was ingenious to have them served on the shell!

Annascaul Black Pudding with a Scallop on parsnip puree

Annascaul Black Pudding with a Scallop on parsnip puree

The venison stew was my absolute favorite! Thank you John Benny’s!

Venison Stew and special 1916 whiskey

Venison Stew and special 1916 whiskey

Kerry beef burger with caramelized onion

Kerry beef burger with caramelized onion

The crabmeat and monkfish tartlet were one of Eamonn’s favorites. Again we were halfway through our tartlet when I realized I wanted a photo and had to slip in line to take a photo. They were delicious!

Monkfish and Crabmeat tartlet

Monkfish and Crabmeat tartlet

These were a delightful trio of tastes! Each was very different and unique. It is a toss up between the tuna and samosa as to which of these three was most delicious.

Black pudding samosa; special camembert; and gin infused tuna

Black pudding samosa; special camembert; and gin infused tuna

There were a few things that we didn’t photograph at all. One was a lovely fish cake, the sticky toffee pudding and an incredibly delicious elderflower and dingle gin sorbet. Oh, and a taste of a local dry cider (which tasted oddly like a Georgian homemade white wine) and a white wine.

Overall it was a lot of fun, great atmosphere, SUNNY, and half way through we were full. We watched the Dublin/ Mayo rematch in the pub where we had our wedding singsong two years ago and then headed home to somehow eat dinner!

Here are some photos taken on our walk up Mt. Eagle on Sunday.

Black Stallion on Mt Eagle

Black Stallion on Mt Eagle

Heather on Mt. Eagle

Heather on Mt. Eagle

The Loch

The Loch

